Activism: Standing Up

Reblogging this off of Pagan Activist…

Pagan Activist

349449_1167— By Shauna Aura Knight

When I first became aware of the word “activism” it was usually in context of people who would go and protest at things. In fact, I used to shy away from the word activist, because I felt that I wasn’t a “real” one. So what if I recycled, and talked about environmental sustainability. I wasn’t out there with my signboards shouting and chanting and blocking traffic and getting arrested.

However, years ago I was given a definition of the word “Power” as “The ability to take an action,” while I was in the leadership and ritual arts training program at Diana’s Grove. And the way I see activism, it’s not synonymous with protesting. Activism, much like power, is taking an action. It’s standing up, speaking up.

And that sounds so simple, and it’s not.

View original post 1,341 more words

Leave a Reply

